To use the Music Player, you will need to install Flash 10 and enable JavaScript.

Michael Krassner began composing music for film with the Boxhead Ensemble, a group he first formed in the early ‘90s to score a number of short films by filmmakers Braden King and Larry Stuckey.  The Ensemble went on to record the soundtrack to King’s film DUTCH HARBOR: WHERE THE SEA BREAKS ITS BACK at Truckstop Audio Recording Co. (Chicago), where he was a founding partner along with King and musician / recording engineer Joseph Ferguson.

Subsequent Boxhead Ensemble recordings include two live albums from the DUTCH HARBOR film screening tours (The Last Place to Go and Niagara Falls), a soundtrack for the John Hyams HBO documentary THE SMASHING MACHINE and the studio albums Two Brothers, Quartets and Nocturnes.

Over the years, the Boxhead Ensemble’s rotating lineup has included Ken Vandermark, Jim O’Rourke (Sonic Youth, Gastr del Sol), Will Oldham (Palace Music, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy), Glenn Kotche (Wilco), Doug Mccombs (Tortoise), Tim Rutili (Califone), Fred Lonberg-Holm, Scott Tuma, Jim White (Dirty Three, Cat Power) and others.